Rep. Susan Davis Named 2020 ‘Champion of Science’

f t # e
Washington, February 14, 2020 | comments

Congresswoman Susan Davis (CA-53) was named a 2020 Champion of Science by The Science Coalition (TSC), a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization of more than 50 of the nation’s leading public and private research institutions dedicated to highlighting the partnerships between the federal government and America’s research universities. This competitive award honors members of Congress whose actions and votes consistently reflect their commitment to fundamental science through funding investment for federal research agencies. Davis was nominated for this award by U.C. San Diego, a member of TSC.

“I am honored to be recognized by The Science Coalition and U.C. San Diego,” said Rep. Davis. “I want to thank UCSD and TSC for all they do in the name of science and education. San Diego has always been at the forefront of innovation and research. We must be sure that it remains so.”

Each year, Davis has led an effort in Congress to increase funding for National Institutes of Health, successfully securing billions more dollars for medical research each year. As a senior member of the House Education and Labor Committee, she has advocated expanding STEM education and encouraging girls to take an interest in science. 

“Throughout her nearly two decades in Congress, Congresswoman Davis has been a true Champion of Science, most notably in her work as an original co-sponsor and steadfast advocate of the 21st Century Cures Act,” said Angela Phillips Diaz, Executive Director of Government Research Relations at the University of California, San Diego. “Her votes and leadership clearly reflect that she values the significance of fundamental research in strengthening our national security, growing our economy, fueling technological innovation, and enhancing public health, We are grateful for her fierce advocacy in ensuring that the crucial federal investment by agencies like NSF, NIH, DoD, and NASA continues to support the nation’s scientific enterprise.”

“Congresswoman Davis is a tireless advocate for America’s scientific enterprise and for robust, predictable federal investment in fundamental science research,” said Lauren Brookmeyer, President of The Science Coalition. “Her leadership and unwavering support of funding for the nation’s research universities and key federal research agencies advance our nation’s ability to stay competitive globally and drive the next generation of life-changing discoveries.”

Since 1999, more than 100 members of Congress have been recognized with the Champion of Science Award for their efforts to secure federal funding for fundamental scientific research – through their voting records, bill sponsorships, letters of support, or other activities aimed at boosting scientific discovery. Awardees were selected both for their support of research institutions and their tireless efforts to ensure fundamental scientific advancement across all disciplines.

The other members of Congress recognized by TSC are Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR), Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Rep. James Langevin (D-RI), Rep. Dave Loesback (D-IA), Rep. Steve Stivers (R-OH), Rep. Paul Tonko, (D-NY), and Rep. Greg Walden (R-OR).

Established in 1994, The Science Coalition is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization of more than 50 of the nation’s leading public and private research universities. It is dedicated to sustaining the federal government’s investment in basic scientific research as a means to stimulate the economy, spur innovation, and drive America’s global competitiveness.

f t # e

Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.

Office Locations